Log in

No account? Create an account
19 June 2009 @ 01:40 am
Sacrebleu and the Friday Puzzle: Yajilin-Battleship  
Yesterday someone pointed me to the French WPC Qualifier as additional practice. I took a quick peek and was pleasantly surprised to find that there were more Hashiwokakuro and Total Masyu on there in the list of puzzles. Then I looked at the puzzles and saw that my blog examples had been reused in entirety (without credit given) and authorship given in the solutions instead to Jean-Louis Legrand. He stole my mystery KenKen too. A little research suggests he has copied my styles before (he did a Mastermindoku in 2008) which is fine with me. Copying styles is gray area, and should give some credit to the originator, but I welcome any new puzzles in ideas I've shared here. Copying my exact puzzles is not! I'm seriously upset by it, disappointed in the French organizers as it compromises their championship to have 5 puzzles that were already out there in the public, and while I've sent email along the proper channels to get the details behind this matter (and will get the authorship issue fixed), I felt the need to vent my frustration here as well.

Anyway, for today's Friday puzzle, when everyone will want to be discussing the rules for Saturday's test soon, I thought I'd do a variation on two types that seem to be on the USPC every year in recent memory: Yajilin-Battleship.

In these two puzzles (the first very easy, the second less so), place the fleet of ships into the grid so that no ships touch, even diagonally (note this is different than the yajilin black square rule where diagonal touching is allowed), and so that each numbered arrow gives the number of ship segments in the indicated direction. The remaining empty white squares must form a single closed loop. Note: In the second puzzle two ships and two seas are given to you in the grid; the "seas" are necessarily in the loop.

Georgi Benev: face1benevg on June 19th, 2009 11:11 am (UTC)
that with the 'appropriation' of your puzzles totally sucks, i agree. i hope the french organizers actually sanction this Jean-Louis in some way! let us know how this develops, if possible :)

i rather enjoyed solving the first puzzle (on the screen). i am going to get to the second one in a bit. :)
thedan on June 19th, 2009 01:08 pm (UTC)
Disgraceful. I hope the plagiarizer is punished and that if they were paid for the puzzles, some small amount of cash heads your way for your work.

I look forward to solving your Yaijinships later, and to exchanging thoughts on the USPC instructions.

grandpascorpion on June 19th, 2009 02:07 pm (UTC)
Sacre-bleu, indeed. That's awful. Have you tried contacting him?

I like this hybrid. Definitely a more natural combo than my Battleship Heyawake.
Adam R. Wood: butasanzotmeister on June 19th, 2009 04:07 pm (UTC)
Reprehensible. (That was the most damning word I could come up with.) Plagiarism is often difficult to prove, but not here! You've got at least half the top solvers in the country as witnesses. I feel for you. My car was rear-ended this morning (no joke), and I totally believe you've been hit worse here than I was. This is horrible. Hopefully this Jean-Louis Legrand "will never work in this town again!". And you are absolutely right - this DOES compromise that test, and I'd love to see what they do to remedy it, especially on the coattails of the last WSC...

Why the hyphen, I wonder? If you'd named it Battleship Yajilin instead, would you have used a hyphen there? Sorry, that's the sort of thing I find myself thinking about.

Rules question: Am I correct in assuming ships can't cover signs? If they can, do the signs count their own cells or not? - ZM
motrismotris on June 19th, 2009 05:00 pm (UTC)
It was late when I posted the puzzle so I guess my hyphen sensors weren't on.

You are correct that all cells with numbers and arrows are otherwise empty (they contain neither a ship segment nor part of the loop).
cyrebjrcyrebjr on June 19th, 2009 07:42 pm (UTC)
Rules Agreement
It seems to be a rule in Yajilin that squares may only be black when an arrow points at them. Is that a necessary condition here?
motrismotris on June 19th, 2009 07:50 pm (UTC)
Re: Rules Agreement
That's not a yajilin rule. There are many counterexamples, particularly on larger puzzles, where you must put a black square in an unmarked row/column as a result of having satisfied the arrow count in another row/column for an either/or choice in a 2x2 square (where one corner takes the loop and the other takes a black square).
(Anonymous) on June 19th, 2009 11:33 pm (UTC)
Hi Thomas,

I just found about the copy without credit.

I'm very sorry to hear that the puzzles were stolen from your collection.
I don't know who did that, but someone really screwed up.

anyway, good luck for tomorrow,


PS: I googled "triangular skyscrapers puzzles" and your entry about the uspc is already referenced :)

Robert Hutchinsonertchin on June 21st, 2009 05:00 am (UTC)
It took me a shameful while to remember what "must form a single closed loop" means, but once I did, these were fun.

May you rapidly get credit for your work and apologies for its pilfering, at a minimum.